Back to News

NUS Delegate 2019/20 Elections: Results

YUSU is a member organisation of the National Union of Students (NUS). Established in 1922, the NUS represents around 7 million students across the UK and campaigns to promote and improve student rights. 


Like YUSU, the NUS is a democratic, student-led organisation and has elected Officers who run campaigns on a wide range of issues relevant to students and respond to policy ideas submitted by their membership. From 31st March - 2nd April in Liverpool, the NUS will hold its annual National Conference - the largest democratic gathering of students in the world. 


Due to the size of the student population at the University of York, we are eligible to send 6 delegates to National Conference, one of which is reserved for the Union President (Samara Jones). The other 5 delegate positions are elected by a cross-campus ballot.  


At NUS National Conference 2014, delegates passed a policy to ensure that delegations to National Conference would be made up of ‘at least 50% self-defining women, rounded down’. For us, that means at least 2 of our 5 elected delegates will be self-defining women. 


NUS Delegates are elected by Single Transferable Vote (STV). Nominations for the positions were open for two weeks and voting was held between Monday 25th November - Monday 2nd December 2019. 12 students nominated themselves for the position, 11 stood in the election and 259 votes were cast online.


As a result the NUS Delegates that have been elected to represent the students of the University of York at the NUS National Conference are:


  • Steph (Effy) Hayle

  • Zarrin Begum

  • Waheed Kalungi

  • John Parry

  • Brian Terry

  • Samara Jones (Ex- Officio)